What The Hell Am I Going To Do With All This Zucchini?

Every year around this time, my husband and I find ourselves asking this question. It seems that every time you pull one zucchini or squash out of the garden, you find three more. I put this little zucchini and squash pesto pizza together last weekend and thought I would share. It was a quite a delicious way to use up some of our harvest; “some” being the operative word since we still have a ton more coming.

At the farmer’s market last weekend, I found myself entranced by the huge tortillas at the tortilla stand. We decided to try out a $7 bag of tomato basil flavored tortillas after the “tortilla man” (my title for him anyhow) mentioned that they were so big that you could use them for flatbread pizzas. Ooh, good idea tortilla man.

I got the idea for zucchini pesto pizza from a roasted veggie pizza I have been making for a few years from the Pioneer Woman. So good – but takes a while to make unless you have the dough and pesto already made. Lucky for us, we have a few frozen cubes of pesto left over from last year’s basil harvest and it was just enough for the pizzas.

IMG_2803

Then I cut up some zucchini and yellow squash to grill. I prep zucchini and squash for grilling by cutting it lengthwise and tossing it in a large gallon Ziploc bag with a little olive oil with salt and pepper. I usually put more herbs and seasonings on it if we are just having it for a side dish, but I figured it would have plenty of flavor with all the other stuff on the pizza.

IMG_2799

Hubby grilled everything up for me. Man like fire = less work for me!

I put some olive oil on the pizza pan so the tortilla wouldn’t stick. To assemble, I put a little (very little, about 2 tablespoons) pesto on the tortilla, topped it with whole milk mozzarella and the grilled zucchini and squash slices. Because we are also overwhelmed by cherry tomatoes right now, I put a couple of those on top too. They actually gave the pizza a little acid which balanced out the heaviness of the cheese and pesto. Next time I will probably even add more.

IMG_2804

We actually made two pizzas, which was a good idea because we ate a pizza and a half between the two of us for dinner and Ace ate the other half over the next two days.

The finished product.

IMG_2806

It was perfect for a weekend dinner with cocktails. The pizza came out of the oven crispy and delicious. Zucchini, squash, and pesto are delicious together. Can’t wait to visit the tortilla man and make this again.

Flatbread Zucchini and Squash Pesto Pizza

(makes 2)

  • 2 humongous tortillas
  • 1 lb. whole milk mozzarella sliced
  • 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash (or 1 and 1 if yours are huge because you never seem to pick them in time)
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • 4 tablespoons pesto
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

Prep zucchini and squash by slicing lengthwise and tossing with olive oil, salt and pepper in a Ziploc bag. Grill until soft and grill-marked. Pre-heat oven to 450.

Grease pizza pans with olive oil. Top tortillas on pizza pans with pesto, mozzarella, slices of zucchini and squash, and halved cherry tomatoes.

Bake pizzas for 10-20 minutes until bottoms are browned.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

