Lazy 4th

We had a very laid back and restful 4th this year. I thought I would share some pics.

Bright eyed and bushy-tailed, we headed out early yesterday morning to our neighborhood Kid’s 4th of July Parade. There is actually a larger children’s parade about a mile from us, but the neighborhood one was just the right speed for a 1-year-old. Plus, it was the parade we took Ace to last year when he was just a zygote (a month old). We decked out his wagon with streamers, checked out the fire truck, and cruised at a maximum 2 miles per hour around the little park in the middle.

IMG_2648

IMG_2622

IMG_2624

IMG_2647

After the parade we ventured to the grocery store about 6 miles away from us, hopefully for the last time. You see, we are devoted Sprouts customers. Sprouts is big here in Colorado and the west. It is known for being an all natural grocer with cheap prices and fantastic sales. I think I mentioned my passion for Sprouts before in my $100 grocery budget post. The problem has been that we are smack dab between the two existing Sprouts stores here in Denver, which means we are 6-7 miles away from either store which can be a pain.

But no longer starting next Wednesday, when we will have a brand spanking Sprouts just down the street from us. The grocery gods answered my prayers! Amen. And if I already sound a little kooky about Sprouts, get this – I already have tickets to their preview party next Tuesday and am hoping to be one of the first 200 people in the door Wednesday to get a free bag of groceries. Hallelujah! PLUS – the first Trader Joe’s in Colorado is being built another 1/2 mile away from us as we speak.  Oh Lawd! Times are good in our neck of the woods.

Back to our 4th. After Ace had his afternoon nap, we decided it was just hot enough to have some fun in the backyard. Ace ran through the sprinkler, played with golf balls and a bucket (his new favorite toys), and we soaked up some sun.

IMG_2654

IMG_2657

IMG_2661

IMG_2664

IMG_2671

That belly just kills me.

The rest of the day we hung out inside. Dinner and bath for Ace, the usual. As for us adults celebrating, I was pretty beat and was in bed by 9:00. I was trying to remember last night when the last time was that I stayed up for fireworks and I have to say at least 3 years ago. The last two years I was pregnant and then had a newborn, so I doubt I did much.

Hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July also.

One thought on “Lazy 4th

Leave a Reply

