My First 5K

Previously, I wrote about “tripping my way towards becoming a runner“, when I was 4 weeks in to the Couch to 5K program. At that time I was only contemplating signing up and running a 5K. Well – done and done! I ran the Mother’s Day 5K and had a blast.

Leading up to the race I was nervous but excited for it. I completed the full Couch to 5K the Sunday prior to the race but the furthest I had run was 2.9 miles (not the 3.2 in a 5K). Couch to 5K is only a timing app, so it’s last training day has you running for 30 minutes regardless of whether that takes you to a full 3.2 miles or less. I added in my old trusty Walk Tracker app which measures the distance with GPS, which is how I knew I wasn’t running the full 3.2 miles.

Also, that week we had tons of rain and thunderstorms which make it difficult (not to mention dangerous) to run with a stroller. I had to wait until Friday morning for a sunny day to get in my last run before the race. I ran 3 miles with le bebe in his stroller in about 30 minutes, which gave me so much confidence going in to Sunday.

IMG_2289

On Sunday I woke up feeling great. I put Ace down for an early nap at 8:00 and drove myself to the race. I decided not to run with Ace in the stroller at the Mother’s Day 5K (although it was allowed) because the race was at 9:00, which is right in the middle of his usual morning nap. Visions of running with a screaming baby in a stroller popped in my head at the thought of including him in this race. Um, no thanks. My husband planned to bring him over to meet me at the finish line.

The Mother’s Day 5K was huge, which was great for a first race (although I have nothing to compare it to ;)). I lined up behind the 10:00 mile pacer, after I overheard someone explaining to their friend what a pacer was. The first mile was interesting, because you start off running in a herd. Once it thinned out a bit around the 1 mile marker, I felt like I could relax a bit without worrying about tripping over someone.

Previously in the week, I created a New Kids on the Block/Micheal Jackson station on Pandora which kept me company in my ear plugs during the run. I was getting sick of my old tunes I was running to and 80s/90s cheeseball pop seemed to be the pep I needed. I also found myself repeating sports mottos in my head, but none of them seemed very apt for the situation.

  • Second place is first loser. Well I guess I am a huge loser since I knew second place wasn’t a consideration for me.
  • Remember it is a marathon, not a sprint. Nope not a marathon, so that doesn’t apply.
  • Slow and steady wins the race. That isn’t true at all for an actual race, right?

At least I kept myself entertained. By the time I got to the 3rd mile marker, I was spent. I actually slowed to a walk for 10 seconds (I timed it), but picked up the speed and used the rest of my energy to sprint to the finish line.

I was met at the finish line with hubby and little man, who was hungry and thirsty, and not in the mood to smile for the camera.

IMG_2241

IMG_2244

We took a few minutes for water and pictures, then high-tailed it out of there to go to brunch. I even had a celebratory bloody mary.

My big goal was just to finish without walking (THIS close) and my second goal was to run a 10 minute mile. I got close to the 10 minute mile. My chip time was 32.04, which I think is pretty good for a first timer.

Now the big question is, “what’s next?” I have been mulling it over in my head this past week and the only thing I know is that I want to run another 5K. Soon too. Lucky for me, my very thoughtful mother-in-law called me a few days ago and asked if I wanted to do a 5K in my husband’s hometown while we are there visiting in a few weeks. Heck yeah! The soonest I thought I would get around to another race was the middle of the summer . . . maybe. This sounds perfect. Plus I will be going from elevation running to sea level, so maybe that will give me a little boost. I shall keep you all posted.

10 thoughts on “My First 5K

  1. Good for you!!! Great job and a excellent time, too. Running used to be my sport but switched to cycling after a knee injury in a half marathon. Now I cycle like a crazy lady and logged 400 miles already for the month 🙂 Keep up the good work, it will keep you young and healthy, sets a great example for your family and it’s fun! Take care, Sherry

  2. That is an amazing time for your first 5k, well done. I tried two 10K races after my 5Ks, an am now trying to train for a half marathon. Keep pushing yourself, you’ve done great!

    • Thank you! I am thinking about a 10K, but just trying to figure out how it will work out time-wise. Good luck with your half marathon.

  3. You do look amazing. I too am so proud of you. Great way to spend your first Mother’s day. I have you signed up for the Firecracker5K. It goes right in front of our house so we all will be out front cheering you on. How exciting. Keep running.!!

Leave a Reply

