Bloggity Blog Blah Goals

Blogging. I know . . I know . . the first rule of blogging is not to blog about blogging, but lately I have the urge to do more writing. My only obstacle is I sometimes (okay, a lot of times) over think blog posts which can sometimes suck the fun out of them. Instead of writing very time-consuming long posts with tons of pictures, I am going to give myself permission to write shorter blog posts without as much work just for my own enjoyment. I will still keep up with the long Baby Update posts, but purely for the enjoyment of Ace’s grandparents and extended family :).

My goal when I first started my blog was to post at least once-a-week, which I have been able to do pretty easily. I think my new goal should be to post at least twice a week. I want to find some creative once-a-week pieces but I am not sure what to do. Some features I have seen on other blogs are:

  • Stream of conscience pieces: The author usually jots down random thoughts once a week. I like this idea, but am not quite sure my random thoughts would be very interesting. More likely they would be things like: I need to go to the post office tomorrow. Why are there seven housewives on Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and five on Real Housewives of Orange County? I should really get some microfiber dusting cloths since they are better for the environment than those Swiffer thingys. My thoughts even bore myself, so I probably shouldn’t put them out there for others to be subjected to.
  • Questionnaires: Some bloggers post questionnaires for themselves to answer and for others to copy and blog also. This was fun for the New Years post I did, but I don’t know if it would be very fun on a weekly basis.
  • Alliterative day name: Such as Meatless Monday recipes or Wired Wednesdays. This might take quite a bit of committment to always post the same thing, the same day of the week each week. If I am looking for more to write about, this might be it though.
  • This is what happened: One thing I don’t do much of is blogging about what we do day-to-day or even recalling our weekends. The biggest reason for this is that I don’t like the idea of having the pressure to blog about all of the minutiae of our daily ins and outs. Also, if you are always blogging about what you do all day, do you constantly have an inner-monolouge of the blog post you are going to write later? Doesn’t this suck the fun out of your day-to-day life? Does this mean I have to take pictures everywhere? Of everything? Maybe I should try it first before I knock it. Perhaps a “This Is What We Did This Weekend” post is in order. Please forgive me however if it ends up just being pictures of the grocery store and a running account of how many naps Ace took.

Writing all of this out has actually made me more excited to explore some new blogging ideas. I shall see what I find soon!

Leave a Reply

