A Day in the Life of Ace at 4.5 Months: Part II

Previously: Part I

1:15 p.m. – Took Ace with me to do laundry. His old bassinet is conveniently in the laundry room with a blanket in it to prop him up. I can usually get away with him watching me switch out laundry for about 10 minutes max.

1:20 p.m. – Put Ace in his sleepsack and changed his diaper for naptime. Nursed him.

1:40 p.m. – Ace is asleep and in his crib. I stretch since I didn’t get a chance to after our walk. While watching Roseanne of course.

1:45 p.m. – Clean up the kitchen from lunch. Usually I listen to music or a podcast while I clean, and today I listened to Alison Rosen Is Your New Best Friend, which was what I was listening to on our walk.

2:00 p.m. – I hear Ace coughing pretty bad and then crying, so I go to get him just in case he spit up. I rock him and nurse him back to sleep again.

2:20 p.m. – Put Ace back in his crib asleep and continue cleaning the kitchen, doing laundry, drinking coffee and listening to my podcast. This is what qualifies as “me time” nowadays.

3:00 p.m. – Continue writing blog post and realize this might need to be a two-parter since it is so long already.

3:15 p.m. – Ace keeps waking up fussing (something between a whine and a cry), just to fall back asleep within 1 minute. He has done it 4 times in the past 10 minutes. It hate listening to him fuss, but I know if I get him up to help soothe him back to sleep he will be awake for the rest of the afternoon and we will be in for another 5:00 p.m. bedtime.

3:30 p.m. – Still fussing on and off, so I go get him. So much for sleep training today. Turns out to be a good decision since he has a VERY dirty diaper.

3:45 Put Ace in the Exersaucer in our room so I can change the bed sheets and make the bed.

3:55 p.m. – We play on top of the bed for a good 20 minutes. Try to do some tummy time, but three times in one day is pushing it. We play one of our favorite games, “Grab Mom’s Hand”, where Ace tries to grab and shove my hand in his mouth.

4:25 p.m. – Nurse him. Again. I am a slave to our recliner. I also make the mistake of bringing a snack of popcorn with me. Ace doesn’t appreciate me eating while he is trying to nurse and will give me the “Are you kidding me?” look. He can be such a diva.

4:45 p.m. – Prep for dinner while Ace sits in the Mamaroo and we listen to music. We even had a chance to dance a little. I started prepping pork tenderloin from this recipe. I got the tenderloin seasoned and put it in the fridge. I will finish cooking dinner once Mr. Ace is in bed for the night.

5:10 p.m. – Bath time. Ace recently learned how to splash by slamming his legs down on the water so this was a bath for me also. I give him a baby massage (which is simply putting lotion on him and singing nursery rhymes) and put on his PJs.

5:45 p.m. – I nurse him in our bedroom until he falls asleep.

6:00 p.m. – Put Ace in his crib. Made dinner while talking to hubby who got home around that time. He missed getting to see Ace, but this doesn’t happen very often. Hubby actually gets to go in to work later tomorrow so he has volunteered to get up with the baby in the morning after I nurse him. Yipee!

6:30 p.m. – Ate dinner, which was delicious. For the tenderloin I made a Lingonberry sauce, since Lingonberry preserves were all that we had. Thank you IKEA. We also had a salad on the side which I had put together a few nights ago. All in all, dinner only took about 20 minutes to pull together. Plus we had a bunch leftover, so tomorrow night can be “Fend For Yourself” night, my mother’s term for leftovers night.

7:00 p.m. – Clean up the kitchen and continue talking to husband.

7:30 p.m. – Take a shower and get ready for bed while watching TV. One habit I got into when I was pregnant was getting in bed ridiculously early to watch TV and play around on my iPad. Most nights I get in bed as soon as I finish eating dinner. I wonder what the 22-year-old version of me would say to seeing my evenings now? Hmmm.

8:30 p.m. – Pump milk. Since Ace goes to bed so early, I need to pump before bed. I am steadily building up quite a stash, so hopefully I can stop breastfeeding before he turns one, but Ace can still be getting a bottle of breastmilk a day until he is a year old and maybe beyond.

9:00 p.m. – Read in bed. I am currently reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It is the best book I have read in a long time, years maybe. It certainly makes going to bed early more appealing. Upcoming books post soon.

9:30 p.m. – Sleep. Obviously I have to go to sleep early in order not to be a zombie tomorrow. Fingers crossed that Ace will get up no more than once tonight and will sleep in until at least 6:00 a.m. My husband has my back though if he doesn’t. Lucky me!

*As a post note: Ace did wake up at 5:30 a.m. and my husband got up with him, which let me sleep in until a luxurious 7:00 a.m.!

One thought on “A Day in the Life of Ace at 4.5 Months: Part II

  1. Yes Jenny, sleep is precious and Ace gets his fair share. The Ligonberry jam sounds good. Do you add anything to it? It looks like you have lots of distractions for Henry that keep him from getting too bored although that keeps you hopping. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

